Saltar para o conteúdo principal da página
Património Cultural

Welcome to the DGPC website

The main goal of this website is to facilitate widespread access to information about different operation areas under the direct responsibility of the Directorate General for Cultural Heritage. It gives an insight into Cultural Heritage contents such as urban built heritage, architectural and archaeological heritage, movable and intangible heritage, museums and monuments.

This is a privileged instrument for the DGPC to reach out to the public, along with a weekly newsletter and a presence in the social media, giving priority to updated information and comprehensive contents. We hope it will meet your expectations and welcome any suggestions you might like to make in order to improve it.

Who we are?

The Directorate-General for Cultural Heritage (DGPC) is responsible for managing the cultural heritage in mainland Portugal. A large team covering virtually all technical and scientific areas is based in Lisbon (central services) and in museums and monuments located in Lisbon, Mafra, Alcobaça, Batalha, Tomar, Coimbra and Porto. Amongst our responsibilities are the management of the architectural and archaeological built heritage – in urban and rural areas – , including conservation works in monuments under our care; management of National Museums, World Heritage monuments and museum collections; study, research and dissemination of heritage information; conservation and restoration of movable heritage assets as well as research, dissemination of results and awareness raising about heritage protection issues.

What we do?

The following are our three main action areas:

· Knowledge, conservation, enhancing and dissemination of the architectural, archaeological, movable and intangible heritage, as well as development and implementation of the national museum policy.

· Management of monuments and museums under our care, including monuments inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

· Permanent liaison with public and private entities, in Portugal and abroad, in areas ranging from legal effect measures to supervision, scientific research, education and training and land use planning.


+ read more

Organizaton Chart


  • João Carlos dos Santos


  • Rita Jerónimo


  • Rui Santos


  • Joaquim Oliveira Caetano


Serviços Centrais

  • Departamento de Bens Culturais

    Maria Catarina Gomes Coelho

    Diretora de Departamento

  • Divisão de Salvaguarda do Património Arquitetónico

    José Carlos Bessa

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão de Inventariação, Estudo e Salvaguarda do Património Arqueológico

    António Batarda

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão do Património Imóvel, Móvel e Imaterial

    Teresa Albino

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão de Arquivo Inventariação e Bibliotecas/ Forte de Sacavém

    Ana Paula Figueiredo

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Departamento de Museus, Conservação e Credenciação

    Teresa Mourão

    Diretora de Departamento

  • Divisão de Museus e Credenciação

    Cristina Pacheco

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão do Laboratório José Figueiredo

    Maria Gabriela Carvalho

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Departamento de Estudos, Projetos, Obras e Fiscalização

    Elisabete Barreiros Ferreira

    Diretora de Departamento

  • Divisão de Execução de Obras e Fiscalização

    Elsa Duarte Conceição

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Departamento de Planeamento, Gestão e Controlo

    Paula Sofia Fonseca Tavares

    Diretora de Departamento

  • Divisão de Planeamento, Gestão, Controlo, Recursos Financeiros e Património

    Paula Cristina Mateus Azevedo

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão de Recursos Humanos, Expediente e Arquivo

    Cláudia Roque

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Departamento de Apoio à  Gestão de Museus, Monumentos e Palácios

    Sónia Soares

    Diretora de Departamento

  • Divisão de Comunicação e Informática

    Helena Martelo

    Chefe de Divisão

  • Divisão Comercial

    Ana Cristina Sousa

    Chefe de Divisão

Serviços dependentes

  • Convento de Cristo

    Andreia Galvão


  • Mosteiro dos Jerónimos e Torre de Belém

    Dalila Rodrigues


  • Mosteiro de Alcobaça

    Ana Fátima Pagará


  • Panteão Nacional

    Santiago Macias


  • Mosteiro da Batalha

    Joaquim Ruivo


  • Museu Nacional dos Coches

    Mário Antas


  • Museu Nacional de Etnologia

    Paulo Ferreira da Costa


  • Palácio Nacional da Ajuda

    José Alberto Ribeiro


  • Palácio Nacional de Mafra

    Maria Fernanda Monteiros dos Santos


  • Museu Nacional da Música

    Graça Mendes Pinto


  • Museu Monográfico de Conimbriga - Museu Nacional

    Vítor Dias


  • Museu Nacional do Azulejo

    Alexandre Pais


  • Museu de Arte Popular

    José Miguel Bernardo


  • Museu Nacional Machado de Castro

    Lurdes Craveiro


  • Museu Nacional do Teatro e da Dança

    Nuno Moura


  • Museu Nacional do Traje

    José Carlos Alvarez


  • Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga

    Joaquim Oliveira Caetano


  • Museu do Chiado / Museu Nacional de Arte Contemporânea

    Emília Ferreira


  • Casa-Museu Dr. Anastácio Gonçalves

    Emília Ferreira


  • Museu Nacional de Arqueologia

    António Gonçalves de Carvalho


  • Museu Nacional de Soares dos Reis

    António Ponte


  • Museu Nacional Grão Vasco

    Odete Paiva


  • Museu Nacional Frei Manuel do Cenáculo

    Sandra Leandro


  • Museu Nacional da Resistência e da Liberdade

    Aida Rechena